Curriculum Overview

At Court Moor we offer a broad, balanced and differentiated curriculum that caters for all. It provides students with a wide range of knowledge, skills and experiences and gives pupils opportunities to fulfil their potential. It is designed to help all students to:

  • develop lively and enquiring minds
  • communicate effectively, both orally and in writing
  • learn the essential skills of life, including numeracy and ICT
  • explore and understand the world in which they live
  • appreciate the interdependence of individuals, groups and nations
  • express themselves creatively and enjoy the creativity of others
  • appreciate a wide range of human achievement
  • develop personal, moral and spiritual values, including respect for others
  • be prepared for the opportunities and responsibilities of life in a changing world
  • develop their personal, learning and thinking skills 
  • demonstrate and develop five main character skills: confidence, integrity, kindness, courage and courtesy
  • learn how to learn and to regard learning as an enjoyable, lifelong activity
  • develop a wide range of interests and appreciate the need for a healthy lifestyle
  • set high personal standards of achievement and value excellence
  • reflect British values and foster an understanding of their importance in today’s society.

We have six periods each day, four in the morning and two in the afternoon. Each lesson lasts 50 minutes, with a 15-minute break between lessons 2 & 3 and 30-minute break between lessons 4 & 5.  

Key Stage 3 Years 7 to 9

In Key Stage 3 Court Moor follows the requirements of the national curriculum. It consists of English, Maths, Science, Design and Technology, Computing, Modern Foreign Languages, History, Geography, Art, Music, Drama, Physical Education, Personal, Social, Health and Economic (PSHE) and Philosophy, Religion and Ethics.

Key Stage 4 Years 10 to 11

In Years 10 and 11, all pupils follow a common core of GCSE courses in English, Mathematics, and Science. 

There is no difference in the curriculum provision for boys and girls, but an element of choice is allowed in Years 10 and 11. The school ensures that the EBacc (English Baccalaureate) qualification is available at KS4 for all students to study, should they wish.

In KS4, students can choose:

  • one option from one of the following entitlement areas:
    • history,
    • geography
    • modern foreign language
  • plus two from:
    • the arts (including art, photography, music and drama)
    • food and nutrition
    • engineering
    • design technology (graphics, product design, electronics)
    • computer science and creative iMedia (Cambridge National Certificate)
    • modern foreign languages (Spanish, German or French)
    • humanities (geography and history)
    • philosophy, religion and ethics
    • physical education or sports studies (Cambridge National Award). 

The structure of the curriculum plan allows students to choose, if they wish, two humanities subjects or two arts subjects. Additionally, GCSEs are offered after school in business studies and psychology.

In addition to the GCSEs listed above, Citizenship, Religious Study, eSafety and Relationship and Sexual Education, is taught in “Off Curriculum” days. These cover a range of topics including:

  • Health and Well-being, including mental health
  • Living in the wider world (careers, transition Post-16, employment skills, drugs, tobacco and alcohol, revision skills)
  • Relationships
  • Citizenship
  • Religious Studies
  • eSafety